The source for the definition of Gluten came from:
WHAT IS GLUTEN?
Gluten is the general name for one of the proteins found in wheat, rye, and barley. It is the substance in flour that forms the structure of dough, the "glue" that holds the product together and is also the leavening ingredient. When these proteins are present in the diet of someone with CD, they become toxic and cause damage to the intestine. This damage leads to decreased absorption of essential nutrients and, if left untreated, can lead to nutrient deficiency and subsequent disease (i.e. iron deficiency anemia, decreased bone density, unintentional weight loss, folate and vitamin B12 deficiency).
WHERE IS GLUTEN FOUND?
Food/grains The grains containing gluten include wheat, rye, barley, and all their derivatives (see Table 1 for a listing of grains to be avoided). These grains are used in such items as breads, cereals, pasta, pizza, cakes, pies, and cookies and as added ingredients to many processed food items.
Please note that all products from Gimballs http://www.gimbalscandy.com are manufactured in a Gluten Free facility. We are happy to open fresh packages from the manufactured upon request and use gloves and clean scoops to help reduce cross contamination. As for all of our chocolates and other confections that are labeled Gluten Free -- the ingredients do not contain Gluten but our kitchens are not Gluten Free.