Welcome to Illinois Nut & Candy

If you have any questions regarding the niche products we sell please call 847.677.5777

  • Casein Free
    According to http://www.gfcfdiet.com/TheBigFAQ's.htm Casein is one of the major proteins in the milk of all mammals including cows, goats, and humans. When Casein is digested properly, it breaks down into large peptides like casomorphin, and should then be broken down further into smaller amino acids
  • Food Dye Free
  • Gluten Free
    The source for the definition of Gluten came from:
     
    WHAT IS GLUTEN? 
    Gluten is the general name for one of the proteins found in wheat, rye, and barley. It is the substance in flour that forms the structure of dough, the "glue" that holds the product together and is also the leavening ingredient. When these proteins are present in the diet of someone with CD, they become toxic and cause damage to the intestine. This damage leads to decreased absorption of essential nutrients and, if left untreated, can lead to nutrient deficiency and subsequent disease (i.e. iron deficiency anemia, decreased bone density, unintentional weight loss, folate and vitamin B12 deficiency).
     
    WHERE IS GLUTEN FOUND?
     
    Food/grains The grains containing gluten include wheat, rye, barley, and all their derivatives (see Table 1 for a listing of grains to be avoided). These grains are used in such items as breads, cereals, pasta, pizza, cakes, pies, and cookies and as added ingredients to many processed food items.    
     
    Please note that all products from Gimballs http://www.gimbalscandy.com are manufactured in a Gluten Free facility. We are happy to open fresh packages from the manufactured upon request and use gloves and clean scoops to help reduce cross contamination. As for all of our chocolates and other confections that are labeled Gluten Free -- the ingredients do not contain Gluten but our kitchens are not Gluten Free.
  • Organic
    According to www.organic.org, What does "organic" mean? Simply stated, organic produce and other ingredients are grown without the use of pesticides, synthetic fertilizers, sewage sludge, genetically modified organisms, or ionizing radiation. Animals that produce meat, poultry, eggs, and dairy products do not take antibiotics or growth hormones.
  • Lactose Free / Pareve
    Pareve is a Kosher term that means that an item has not come into contact with either milk or meat. Our entire facility and all of our products are under the supervision of the Chicago Rabbincal Council. To view our certificate please click here.
  • Sugar Free
    According to wikipedia, A sugar substitute, or artificial sweetener, is a food additive which attempts to duplicate the effect of sugar or corn syrup in taste, but usually with less food energy.
  • Vegan
    According to www.vrg.org Vegans, in addition to being vegetarian, do not use other animal products and by-products such as eggs, dairy products, honey, leather, fur, silk, wool, cosmetics, and soaps derived from animal products.
  • Egg Free
    According to www.pccnaturalmarkets.com, Allergy to eggs is one of the most common causes of food allergy in infants, young children, and adults. An egg-free diet removes eggs and products that may contain eggs.
  • Corn Free
    According to www.mothernature.com, A corn-free diet removes not only products made primarily from corn, but also avoids foods containing ingredients derived from corn. People allergic to corn also should avoid non-food items containing corn derivatives, such as some medicines and adhesives.
  • Low Carb
    According to wikipedia, Low-carbohydrate diets or low carb diets, are food diet programs for weight loss and dietary health that advocate restricted carbohydrate consumption, based on research that ties carbohydrate consumption with increased blood insulin levels, and increased insulin with obesity.
  • No Sulfur Added
  • Nut Free
    We do not certify that our store is Nut Free. We do carry a product from the manufacturer www.gimbalscandy.com you can request a sealed bag from the manufacturer in 10 lbs increments. We also carry 20 ounce bags of sealed jelly beans. If you have any questions about allergens please call 1-800-590-6887 to discuss your concerns with our staff. The definition of a Nut Allergy According towww.lpch.org, A tree nut allergy is an abnormal response of the body to the proteins found in tree nuts. In order to avoid foods that contain tree nuts, it is important to read food labels. How to read a label for an tree nut-free diet: Be sure to avoid foods that contain any of the following ingredients: Almonds, brazil nuts, cashews, chestnuts, filberts, hazelnuts, gianduja (a creamy mixture of chocolate and chopped toasted nuts found in premium or imported chocolate), hickory nuts, macadamia nuts, marzipan/almond paste, nougat, Nu-Nuts™ artificial nuts, nut butters (i.e., cashew butter, almond butter), nut oil, nut paste (i.e., almond paste), pecans pine nuts, (pignolia, pinion), pistachios, walnuts.
  • Peanut Free
    We do not certify that our store is Nut Free. We do carry a product from the manufacturer www.gimbalscandy.com you can request a sealed bag from the manufacturer in 10 lbs increments. We also carry 20 ounce bags of sealed jelly beans. If you have any questions about allergens please call 1-800-590-6887 to discuss your concerns with our staff. The definition of a Nut Allergy According towww.lpch.org, A tree nut allergy is an abnormal response of the body to the proteins found in tree nuts. In order to avoid foods that contain tree nuts, it is important to read food labels. How to read a label for an tree nut-free diet: Be sure to avoid foods that contain any of the following ingredients: Almonds, brazil nuts, cashews, chestnuts, filberts, hazelnuts, gianduja (a creamy mixture of chocolate and chopped toasted nuts found in premium or imported chocolate), hickory nuts, macadamia nuts, marzipan/almond paste, nougat, Nu-Nuts™ artificial nuts, nut butters (i.e., cashew butter, almond butter), nut oil, nut paste (i.e., almond paste), pecans pine nuts, (pignolia, pinion), pistachios, walnuts.
  • Resinous Glaze Free
    According to www.gleegum.com, Resinous glaze is an all-natural resin harvested from the lac beetle. Contrary to myth, resinous glaze does not contain insects, but rather is made from insect secretions, much like honey. It is safe to eat and fine for vegetarians.
  • Cholov Yisroel
    Dairy products certified that there is not a mixture of milk from non-kosher animals into kosher milk.
  • Pas Yisroel
    According to www.star-k.org, Pas Yisroel refers to baked goods prepared in ovens which are turned on by the mashgiach.
  • Yoshon
    According to wikipedia, Yoshon is a concept within Kashrut, the dietary regulations of Judaism. The word Yoshon literally means "old" and refers to the prohibition contained in the Torah (Leviticus 23:14) of eating from the new crops of certain grains (Chodosh) before the Omer offering from the new harvest was brought to the Temple on the second day of Passover. This marked the beginning of Sefirat Ha'omer. This prohibition only applied to the five classical grains of Judaism: Wheat, Barley, Oats, Spelt and Rye. Since there is no Omer offering in post-Temple times, the second day of Passover itself marks the end of the prohibition against eating from the new grains.
  • Dairy
    Any product that contains milk products of bi-products.
  • Natural